What is a Special District?

Independent special districts are sanctioned under California Law for the performance of local governmental functions within specified boundaries. Agencies range in size from small to very large and often cross political boundary lines, such as city and county borders, to serve a common community of interest. There is a clear identification between agency name and services provided, which has resulted in a high level of accountability and responsibility to the public, and a high degree of customer satisfaction. As such, they are an integral part of local government and contribute significantly to the quality of life in the communities they serve.

(from California Special District Association CSDA)

The Stege Sanitary District is an independent Special District of the State of California as reorganized under the Sanitary District Act of 1923. The District is a public agency administered by a duly elected five member Board of Directors.

California Special Districts Association mapping program webpage shows the boundaries for the special districts in California.  See for more information on all California's Special Districts.


Board of Directors

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors. Directors are elected from among the resident electors of the District and serve four year terms of office.

  • Beatrice O'Keefe - PRESIDENT
  • Dwight Merrill - VICE PRESIDENT
  • Juliet Christian-Smith
  • Paul Gilbert-Snyder
  • Alan C. Miller

Individual Board of Directors bio page can be found here.



Each Board Member is elected at large and serves a four-year term.  Terms are staggered and elections are held every two years in November on even-numbered years.  

Three terms are up for election in 2022 and the remaining two terms are up for election in 2024. Candidates must be United States Citizens, at least 18 years of age and reside within the boundaries of the Stege Sanitary District.
Procedures, deadlines and nomination papers may be obtained from the County Elections Office:
Contra Costa County Election Division
555 Escobar Street
Martinez, CA 94553
(925) 335-7800


Board Meetings

The Board of Directors meets once or twice monthly on a Thursday at 7:00PM to discuss the business of the District. Members of the public are encouraged to attend these public meetings. 

For a schedule, agenda, and general information about these meetings, please visit our Public Meetings page.


Director Resources