CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION



40 Muir Road, 1st Floor • Martinez, CA 94553 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 313-7133

April 4, 2023

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer

TO: Presiding Officer or Designated District Voting Delegate

FROM: Lou Ann Texeira, LAFCO Executive Officer

SUBJECT: 2023 Election for LAFCO Special District Seat (Alternate)

In early February 2023, LAFCO staff announced a Special District (Alternate Member) vacancy on Contra Costa LAFCO in conjunction with the passing of Stan Caldwell. At that time, LAFCO called for nominations and the names of district voting delegates.

The deadline for submitting nominations was April 3, 2023. LAFCO received seven nominations. The attached ballot lists the seven candidates and their districts.

The *Independent Special District Selection Committee*, consisting of the presiding officer (or his/her designee) of the legislative body of each independent special district, appoints the special district members of LAFCO. LAFCO is conducting the election via email and postal mail. Your district is receiving this message and ballot via email and postal mail.

Enclosed is the official ballot and list of presiding officers/voting delegates. If your district has not yet provided the name of your presiding officer and voting delegate (must be a board member), please do so as soon as possible.

We ask that each district complete and return its signed ballot to Contra Costa LAFCO office either by email to LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us or via postal mail to Contra Costa LAFCO, 40 Muir Road, First Floor, Martinez, CA 94553.

In order to complete the 2023 election process, we must receive completed ballots from a majority of the districts (at least 21 districts) no later than <u>May 19th</u>. If a majority of ballots is not received by <u>May 19th</u>, a further extension of this election may be required.

This is a time sensitive matter, and we ask that you forward this information including the attachments to your presiding officer and/or voting delegate at your earliest convenience.

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions or need additional information. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Attachments:

- Ballot
- List of Voting Delegates

INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION COMMITTEE CONTRA COSTA LAFCO

OFFICIAL BALLOT

Election of **ALTERNATE** Special District Member - term of office on Contra Costa LAFCO to May 2026

VOTE FOR ONE:

☐ David Alvarado (West County Wastewater District)	
☐ Michelle Lee (San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District)	
☐ Antonio Martinez (Contra Costa Water District)	
☐ Susan Morgan (Iron House Sanitary District)	
□ Dawn Morrow (Iron House Sanitary District)	
☐ Scott Pastor (Diablo Water District)	
☐ Igor Skaredoff (Contra Costa Resource Conservation District)	
Name of Voting District:	

2023 INDEPENDEN	T SPECIAL DISTRICT	SELECTION COMMITTEE	
DISTRICT	NAME	TITLE	ALTERNATE
ALAMO-LAFAYETTE CEMETERY DIST	Nancy J. Flood	Chair	Carolyn Thiessen, Trustee
AMBROSE REC & PARK DIST	Trina Hudson	Chair	Mae Torlakson, Vice Chair
B-B-K-U CEMETERY DIST	Patricia Bristow	Chair	Emil Geddes, Trustee
BETHEL ISLAND MID	Bruce Smith	Board President	Anthony Berzinas, Vice Pres
BYRON SANITARY DISTRICT	Danny Hamby	President	Bobby Byer, Vice President
CASTLE ROCK COUNTY WATER DISTRICT	Dan Moylan		Joe Atturio
CENTRAL CONTRA COSTA SANITARY DIST	Tad Pilecki	Board Member	Barbara Hockett, Pres
CONTRA COSTA MOSQUITO & VECTOR	James Murray	President	Darryl Young, Vice Pres
CONTRA COSTA RESOURCE CON DIST	Walter Pease	President	<u> </u>
CONTRA COSTA WATER DISTRICT	Ernesto Avila	President	Antonio Martinez, Vice Pres
CROCKETT COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT	Luigi Barassa	President	Jena Goodman, Vice Pres
DIABLO CSD	Kathy Urbelis	President	Matthew Cox, Vice Pres
DIABLO WATER DISTRICT	Marilyn Tiernan	President	Scott R. Pastor, Vice Pres
TOWN OF DISCOVERY BAY CSD	Michael Callahan	Vice President	Ashley Porter, President
EAST CONTRA COSTA IRRIGATION DISTRICT	Glenn Stonebarger	President	Mark Dwelley, Vice Pres
GREEN VALLEY REC & PARK DIST	Kathi Bachelor	President	Donna Coon, Vice President
IRONHOUSE SANITARY DIST	Dawn Morrow	President	Chris Lauritzen, Vice Pres
KENSINGTON FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT	Julie Stein	President	Daniel Levine, Vice Pres
KENSINGTON POLICE PROT & CSD	Alexandra Aquino-Fike	President	Sarah Gough, Vice Pres
TOWN OF KNIGHTSEN CSD	Trish Bello-Kunkel	Chair	Gilbert Somerhalder, Vice Chair
MORAGA-ORINDA FIRE DIST MT. VIEW SANITARY DIST	John Jex Dave Maggi	President President	Mike Roemer, Vice Pres Brian Danley, Vice Pres
			•
PLEASANT HILL REC & PARK DISTRICT	Bobby Glover	Chair	Sandra Bonato, Vice Chair
RECLAMATION DIST (RD) 799	Jim Price	President	Richard Kent, Vice Pres
RD 800	Robert Lyman	President	David Harris, Secretary
RD 830	Chad Davisson	President	Domenic Cianfichi, Secretary
RD 2024	Don Wagenet, Trustee		John Jackson, Thomas Robinson, Trustees
RD 2025	David Forkel	Chair	Clark Misner, Randall Neudeck
RD 2026*	David Forkel	Chair	Russell Ryan, Randall Neudeck
RD 2059	Rob Davies	President	William Hall
RD 2065*	Coleman Foley		Thomas Baldocchi, Sr. Thomas Baldocchi, Jr.
RD 2090*	Jake Messerli	Chair	Robert Eddings. Secretary
RD 2117*	Joyce Speckman		Sandra Speckman Kiefer Kent L. Kiefer
RD 2122	Douglas Rischbieter	President	Katherine Wadsworth, VP
RD 2137*	Ed Schmidt	James Eckman	
RODEO-HERCULES FIRE PROTECTION DIST	Steve Hill	Vice Chair	
RODEO SANITARY DISTRICT	Connie Batchelder	President	Janet Callaghan, Vice Pres
SAN RAMON VALLEY FIRE PROTECTION DIST	Michelle Lee	President	Jay Kerr, Vice Pres
STEGE SANITARY DISTRICT	Juliet Christian-Smith	President	Paul Gilbert-Snyder, VP
WEST COUNTY WASTEWATER DIST	Cheryl Sudduth	President	David Alvarado, Vice Pres